The Open 2021

The 18th Hole at the Royal St George's Golf Course

The Open Championship is the oldest of the four major championships in professional men’s golf. With the rescheduling of the PGA championship to May in 2019, it has now become the final major of the year. Winners are famously celebrated as ‘Champion Golfer of the Year’ and are presented with the Claret Jug. There are ten courses in the current rota, with five in Scotland, four in England and one in Northern Ireland.

The Royal St George’s Golf Club, located in Sandwich, Kent, is a classic test of links golf and was the first English course to host The Open Championship. 2021 will be the 15th time that the championship has come to St George’s. Hosting the Open since 1894, past champions include Harry Vardon (twice), Walter Hagen (twice), and more recently, Sandy Lyle, Greg Norman and in 2011, Darren Clarke.

Each hole is different and memorable, a true sign of a great course, and some unique identifying features include thatched roof shelters, the red cross of St George on the flags, and the UK’s tallest and deepest bunker on the 4th hole. The par three 3rd is the only par three on the Open championship rota without a bunker. Royal St George’s presents one of the most formidable challenges in golf, with its famously undulating fairways often presenting golfers with uneven lies from which to hit their approach shots. The course is not a traditional out and back layout, but each nine is broadly circular, meaning that players are contending with different wind conditions on each consecutive hole.